where to get a cheap 2nd hand caravan in sydney?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
hi folks im jimmy. im about to start a fossicking adventure.
But im on a very tight budget. So I looking for a really cheap
caravan in sydney area. To buy or rent for up to 6mnths.
I dont mind if its old and alittle banged up. As long as it has all the basics.
Gotta leave the big smoke for awhile. And an extended fossicking Trip would be
great medicine. I live in sydney and can pick up if its not too far out and some rego.
I dont expect too much as i only have about a grand or so. If theres anyone with any info
on where i might find a cheap van.... It would be the last peace in my puzzle and Im outta here.
although i am totally new to fossicking... Its just what i need right now.
I m really looking forward to getting out in nature and the possibility of finding afew stones is a nice dream.
thanks for any info guys.
Highest regards. . Jimmy.

Hi, although from S.A. I thought I'ld tell you that for $1,000 you are not going to get much at all in the way of a caravan. You don't say how long you are gonna be away, but you should be able to rent a van or a camper in the mid $30/day.

That would give you a bit over a month away and at least it would be better fitted out than a leaky and probably unroadworthy wreck that you would buy.

Do a search on Google or the Yellow pages and ring around the rental agencies.

Hi Jimmy,
The caravan sales place at Windsor had some low priced vans for sale and the web sites for RV's did too a couple of real old vans(1980's) for under $1000.

Bob.

Yeah your probly right condor. But i remember that place your talking about bob.
Thought that place would be long gone. use to live in one out the back of my oldys in st clair in the early 90.
Just gotta track down the number. Thanks guys. I let you know how i do.

Jimmy.