Imperial to Metric changeover

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I live in a modern metric society but I still think in inches and ‘not’ in cm because I did graduate from high school in the 1970’s and I’m still stuck in the 70’s 🤣😂.

I live in a modern metric society but I still think in inches and ‘not’ in cm because I did graduate from high school in the 1970’s and I’m still stuck in the 70’s 🤣😂.

Yeah Deano, but we went metric in the 60's 😂

Yeah Deano, but we went metric in the 60's 😂
Moneybox, I do not live in Australia, I am Canadian, I went to public schools in Alberta, Canada (where I live now) for 12 years, graduating from high school in the 1970’s, I did all my 12 years of schooling in the Imperial system of feet, inches, and fractions like 3/4”. I went to college then I have been a Carpenter since 1980, in the 80’s, all through the 90’s, and early 2000’s we used the “feet, inches, and fractions Imperial system” about 99% of the time for all building, cutting, and material measurements. I still use about 99% Imperial system to this day right now for measuring (tape) and >>I still think in inches and feet, I “never” think in the metric system for measuring<<, the only metric I think in is temperature and speed. I’m not working and retired now on Canada Pension Plan (CPP), I just bought a new GPX 6000 with a pick (which I cut the handle down from 36” inches to 24” inches), I also ordered a NF 12x7 Xceed directly from Rohan Johnson which came in the post mail which I have not used yet. I want to replace my vinyl siding and just very recently I measured my house up for new metal siding, I did all the measurements in the Imperial system and the metal supply company gave me a dollar quote from those Imperial measurements.