Gold assay

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
What is the purpose of the assay, and what type of material do you want to assay?

goldierocks said:
What is the purpose of the assay, and what type of material do you want to assay?
Hi Mate, I have a perth mint gold bar i kneed to know weather its real or forgery, cheers.

Im no expert, but...
An xrf gun will only tell u what the surface is made of, same with the chemical tests. Would need to do a specific gravity test to know if it's real, but even then the Tungsten rods put in solid blocks went undetected for who knows how long by professionals in major gold depositories.
As far as l know the only way to be 100% sure is very high powered x-rays. Still a specific gravity test should give u a decent idea if it's real. Best part is you should be able to do the test yourself.

Matt80 said:
Im no expert, but...
An xrf gun will only tell u what the surface is made of, same with the chemical tests. Would need to do a specific gravity test to know if it's real, but even then the Tungsten rods put in solid blocks went undetected for who knows how long by professionals in major gold depositories.
As far as l know the only way to be 100% sure is very high powered x-rays. Still a specific gravity test should give u a decent idea if it's real. Best part is you should be able to do the test yourself.
Hi Folk thanks for the help i will do a gravity test and see what happens i know the formula is here some wear i just to have to find it, Thanks again.

:cool: Hi fellers, Just done a gravity test 31.11 gram on the scales the same in a bucket of water, so i guess it mite be the real thing,the only thing is i dont have it in on paper, Thanks for the help, Cheers, Ron.