Where do you detect in creeks?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a newbie Tasmanian prospector who after many a number of hours searching (using GM1000) has found a decent amount of hot rocks, spent bullets and assorted junk . I am still hooked but would not mind some of that shiny stuff. Due to the bush density (especially around Queenstown) I have focused on creeks. Currently I have been detecting everything in the creek: creek-bed and creek-bank mainly, but I am wondering if this is the wrong approach? Should I walk until bedrock and then detect? Should I focus on areas where the creek flattens out after a steeper section? I am honestly quite unsure.

Any advice would be appreciated.

(I understand that this has likely already been answered, I was just unable to find it on the forum)

Welcome Qmot,
Have found some of my prize nuggets in dry WA creek beds. Most success has come from detecting creeks below old dry blowings on the side of hills.
Detect down stream from the old working and pay particular attention to any rock bars of bends. I used large monos on the Minelab range of detectors starting back when the SD 2100 was a newby. Have yet to try my luck with my GPZ, too interested in finding gold elsewhere. ;)

I reckon half of the problem is that because creeks are the only easy spots to detect in tassie, that's where everyone detects, especially the ones on MRT maps. The hard part is working out which unmapped creeks actually hold detectable gold.
Another method is to find a likely looking area of bedrock in a known gold creek and move some rocks and overburden then detect underneath.