Slushie

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Well its, here The Slushie so named by Mrs Bazz the first time I ran it water slushed all over both of us.

Probably not as elegant as the Rockin Yobskin but definitely over budget (if there was a budget) and late in production, it was supposed to be tried out on our 2014 Christmas holiday.Ooops!

The reason for building it was that I have a promising spot on private land but my access is conditional that I agree to No smelly, noisy pump motors which eventually translated to NO motorized pumps at all.

I have NEVER tried anything like this before so its over built and a little rural, I saw a video of one made by John Jacobs on You Tube. cant be that difficult! I said, ??????????? ;)

Top box is 12 x 12 and the main sluice, is 3 feet long and the fall is calc at 1 in 3, so 3 feet long and 1 inch fall. The same calc was applied to the to top fluid bed.

I played with modified Clarkson and lazy L riffles but they clogged up (probably too big and the water flow is less, currently working on another smaller set )

Each level has V matting with Bunnings moss (grey stuff) and small expanded metal. mesh

The pump is 100 ltr per minute, the frame is simple meccano set style cause I cant weld for shyte, the only work I outsourced was the bending of the main 2 pieces the rest was made with love, care and multiple bruises, screw ups and nasty temper tantrums, but it WORKS I hope ( well it looks like it does)

[video=480,360]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_-tWcMJSh8[/video]

Cheers

Thi is like the second coming, all fired up and no spark........

I'm not into this You Tubey thingo, so I consulted an expert, my grandson and he's sorted it out, to the the tune of "Oh Poppy you didn't do this...."
:8