Skidplates

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, just wondering if there are any people who wear through their skidplates regularly. I go through 3-4 a year, but I know blokes who can blow them out in 3-4 sessions.

At $20 a pop they aint cheap to replace, which is why I use layers of cheap insulation tape to repair them. ;)

Lightweight coils are great, but a few extra grams on some tougher plastic wouldnt go astray.

I've had the same skidplate on my 5x8 DD for the past 8-9 months and its still going strong, though I'm mostly detecting grassy, sandy environments with the occasional creek bed thrown in.

What type and size coil are you using? And are you using any specific brand of skidplate?

Cheers,
Nugget

I've never wore through a skid plate and I've been detecting for a few years now. But I'm in the same situation as Nugget, mainly used on parks, beach etc. I did loose one on Nobbys beach Newcastle when it was ripped off by the current around the rocks. Did anyone find it! Would love to get it back

One of the lads from Victoria that was staying up here with us found a skidplate while out at a fossicking area here. Whoever lost it had covered it with Fibreglass ? or something else similar and it appeared to be very hardwearing. Thought it was a good idea as i go through skidplates like nothing here, gone through 2 11'' ones already this year! Will have to try it out methinks
Regards Bill :cool:

Are you guys wearing them out as in scrubbing holes through them or are they cracking?

Mine wear out around the rim mainly , the ground up here is pretty stony and harsh, i have stopped scraping the ground now as i have started to use bigger coils these days in the hope of getting bigger nuggets ! But the 11" ones have been cracking right around the rim so i end up with half the base flapping as it seems to wear evenly !