Newbie - would love your advice :)

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone I am completely new to this and looking for a bit of advice please

I am wanting to start panning for gold and stones but have no idea what to do or where to go so please be nice haha

i have always been fascinated by fossicking but never really thought about doing it until recently. I was wondering if anyone could please recommend reasonably priced equipment for a beginner? A pan? What else do I need?
Any good you tube videos you can recommend I watch to see how its done?

I have access to private land in the Brindabella valley, Goodradigbee river and was hoping to have a bit of a pan. I am interested in looking for gold and gems. As I said only new and unsure but any advice or help you guys can offer would be fantastic!!
Thank you :)

watch wal and liz videos they will show you how to prospect and the equipment needed and read some posts you will find every thing you need good luck :)

thanks Richo i will have a look tonight!
am planning a trip out to detect a den in fyshwick this weekend so hopefully they can help me out with what i need.
are there any particular types or depths of water that I should be looking for when choosing a spot to pan? I had sort of just planned to find a spot on the river but if there are any signs I should be looking for that would be great to know
am also going through the forums at all the posts, you all have some beautiful finds

G'day spud and welcome to the forum. You will find lots of great info here that will be helpfull in your search. There are lots of videos on YouTube about where to look for gold in the river. Thank got for the internet. :). Find few buddies in your area and they will enlighten you. Good luck with it and looking forward to seeing some pics of fruits of your labour.

thanks Beagleboy!