New guy, with SD 2100

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey all, just looking for some advice..

Yesterday I picked up an SD 2100 for $800... Came with 2 coils 18" mono, 11" DD, 2 batteries, speaker+booster.. All the goodies..

Anyway, the question is, did I waste my money?, or do I have half a chance at pinging some gold?

I've been swinging my Whites GMT GB2 and GB Pro for the last 6 months and have had great success on smaller gold. The largest being a nice 1.77 Gram nugget..
Picked up the PI as the area I hunt is highly mineralized and covered in hot rocks and ironstone, plays havoc with the VLF machines..

Any info would be of great help, recommended coils etc.. I know they're an older machine, but hey :) they worked back in the day right? :p

That's a good buy for $800. The 11" DD will give you the best results on small stuff. There are plenty of people still getting nuggets with these machines. Take your time getting used to it, and go really slow and low, and you will be picking up nuggets in no time. A mate of mine has recently got one near Ballarat as his first detector and has been picking up nuggets.

Goodluck
DD

Hi mate,

I started with a SD 2000 back in the day (2000 & 2100 a great machine but you have to GB often) then upgraded to a 2200, I skipped the 2100 as I wanted the added benefit of ground tracking to help in our heaviily mineralised ground. Mate $800 for a 2100 is a bargain but I think you will need to get someone who has mastered one to help you get the best out of it.

Hot rocks and ironstone are where the best gold is, don't try for easier ground it sounds like your in the right spot. Stick with your DD, GB often, and keep your swing low and slow :)

best of luck

Jim & Kerrie

I would agree with the above comment by Jim, stick with the 11 DD, slow and low.