Starting out (Prospecting)

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt22

Matt
Reaction score
Hi

I'm very new to the Prospecting world. Keen to get out and have a crack, good excuse to get outdoors and enjoy what nature has to offer!

I'm after a little info in relation to start-out equipment. I'm currently saving for a detector, so I would like to get started on the panning gear.

I was wondering what panning gear should I require and what brands do you recommend? best place to buy from in Aus (Im located in Tassie)

Any info would be greatly appreciated :)

Cheers

Matt

Hey Matt,

Pan, sieve & snufferbottle.
A bucket, some basic digging tools - shovel, trowel, spoon, brush & something to scratch crevices out with.

Any pan will work, some better than others. Everyone has their own preference, but most recon(including myself) that you can't go too wrong with a Garrett Supersluice pan. The garrett pans are fast(correction - you can pan fast with them) & fairly difficult to loose gold with - with little practice.

I use a bucket sieve. 1/2" mesh - any smaller & it's too easy to loose gold I recon. I got one piece of gold that would struggle to go thru anything smaller & could easily have been overlooked in a smaller mesh sieve. See here on how to make one https://www.prospectingaustralia.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=541

The Garrett deluxe pan kit is good for beginners. Contains the super sluice pan which is my personal favorite plus 2 smaller ones, a classifier, a snuffer bottle , some vials and a instruction book. Think there about $90 usually.

DD