Beginners gear

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been trolling through forums and YT videos and such and maybe its just me but I cant seem to get a good list of what gear a beginner needs to get out and start prospecting, so far Ive managed to work out the the list below, just wondering if there is anything I should add
Backpack
Pan kit (something like a Minelabs pro kit)
Pick\shovel
Finds bag
Ive decided on an Equinox 900 to get started

If there's anything else those of you more experienced guys might thing is useful, please add to the list.

Just a quick edit, as it says I'm a beginner, if this isn't the appropriate place to ask this sort of question just let me know.

Last edited:
Just start with that....... the most important thing is a good attitude........ unlike YT vids, you will find HEAPS of Shite, but persavere.....it will come.
just remember......if it was that easy.........everyone would be doing it........Good luck
A bad day out in the bush, is still a bloody good day......... it beats working

The word prospecting has a meaning looking for precious gems, metals or minerals. Treasure hunting is taken to mean looking for old relics or valuable lost items. The requirements for each are quite different.
So that is the first question you need to ask yourself.
If the answer is treasure hunting, an equinox, shovel and finds bag would be just about ok to start with. You do not need a panning kit for that.
If the answer is prospecting you need to ask a further question - metal detecting or panning for gold?
If panning for gold, apart from the panning kit and perhaps a thin metal scraper, you would not need a metal detector.