New member - 1st trip to Gulgong

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone and thank you.
Im from Newcastle and I’m brand new to prospecting. I have all the gear, and just about to go on my very first trip.🙌🤗
Unfortunately this trip was planned more around a place to stay with my spoilt dogs 🙄rather than for a place for me to only search for gold.
BUT I’m staying on a property in Gulgong, on Barney’s reef road. Is there anywhere around that area or even Mudgee that I can try my new sluice out or detect. Any tips would be awesome and I promise to post back and let everyone know how my 1st adventure went. 😊

Welcome to the PA. Now I can't help with info on Gulgong but it was known for gold in the old days. Even the name Barney's Reef Road sounds like a gold area to me. I am sure there are lots of people on here that will give you some info so you can commence your journey into prospecting. Cheers Mackka

The gold chased out at Barney's Reef was mostly old alluvial leads buried deeply under basalt flows I believe. I've read old timer reports of shafts being sunk down 40ft & still in the basalt so for hobby prospecting this isn't an ideal area to be searching. That being said I've always wondered if Slap Dash Creek out that way might cut thru some old shallower areas & hold some gold in crevices etc. Possibly worth some sampling if on or near where your staying.
Unfortunately though, most areas around Gulgong/Mudgee are now on private property. It can be a hard gig around here, even for locals, to get access. Those that do have access arrangements tend to keep them guarded (& for good reason).