need help finding nuggets with my gold bug pro

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys im a rookie at using a detector I got myself a fisher gold bug pro ive only had it 6 days but been out every day to bullumwaal to old mining sites and along creek beds where I had found a nice 2g nuggets and 2 quartz gold specimens but so far ive had no luck with the detector only picking up old .22 cal shells and lots of led shot. Ive been searching the harder edges of the creeks and in the shallows. Im using a 5' DD coil so I know it should be picking up gold the size of a match head but so far no luck. Im putting it down the error from the driver not the machine because that works extremely well. Also for any of u who dont know the bullumwaal area its HIGHLY mineralised and full of hot rocks which arent a problem using the gold bug pro. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated as I had much more luck panning but would prefer to get atleast a few nuggets before I pull out the pan. Cheers

Haha mate im in the same boat as you got nearly 7 grams or so with the old pans but nothing other then junk yet with the gold bug pro. I suppose you just need to keep looking as I have heard if your finding the junk with it you will find the gold as well. But there is also a section for fisher detectors try post under that subject maybe better help.

The cool thing about panning is that getting some colour is usually relatively straightforward, although getting gold with some weight to it can take a lot more work. A detector is a very different proposition, as you are both finding.