Other Gold Detectors....?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cry

Reaction score
I'm looking for something other than a Minelab or Garrett. I want a machine with some kind of discrimination. Has anyone found/used something they have liked?

Here are a couple detectors I'm looking at:

*Vogel Qz80
*Tarasacci MDT 8000 (I have this one).
*Klayzer 2D Max

I picked up a used MDT 8000 dirt cheap. It's a beach detector but is very unique as it runs PI and one of three vlf frequencies. Handles mineralized ground very well. I'm still learning the Black Sand and the Salt modes, but so far I like the machine. Found a 45cal slug at 9" and a couple 22slugs at 4". I have a 0.5g test nugget, which sounds off at around 2". The 2g nugget sounds off at 6". Appears to be more sensitive than my F75 but the dang machine still likes old nails and flat tin tops.

Rob

Attachments

• 20220807_120822.jpg
    20220807_120822.jpg
    6.4 MB · Views: 0
Pulse Induction metal detectors that are more marketed &/or geared towards gold detecting have basic discrimination at best, or none at all. Nothing at all like what's available on VLF coin/relic type machines.

I'd hazard to guess that other not well known machines outside of Garrett & Minelab etc. are not well known for good reason. Put simply if they worked better or had better discrimination abilities they would be known of.

Have you considered the new Garrett Axiom that has discrimination & from early reports is not far behind the top range Minelab machines for gold detecting?