Land rover 6x6

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wally69

Paul
Reaction score
Has anyone had any experience with one of these, at 5.6t it may be overkill for a prospecting rig but they look like they could be set up for some serious time in the bush.
1400157070_image.jpg

I have seen a lot of ex army vehicles being auctioned off at Grays Online Australia, don't know what they sold for though.

This is one of a handful on Grays, they are a 4 cylinder diesel. I am thinking I will see how much they are going for this round.

Know nothing about land rovers, so I am in research mode.

as any 6 wheel drive 4wd the two rear main tyres tend to chew out a lot quicker than the rest i have learnt this when i was a soldier as being around these land rovers a lot they are a great 6wd very well maintained some are 6wd as some are only 4wd with a lazy axle at the rear good luck

That looks cool but bear in mind higher maintenance being a 6x6 and at 5.6 tonnes it'd suck off road especially once you have it loaded with provisions. I'd have some concerns taking that thing out bush

Am thinking the 5.6t must be a full-loaded weight rating unless they are armoured; they do not look like they are.

With about a tonne of gear needed fit it out as a camper; am thinking it should hold a reasonably light footprint with the four wheels on the rear. They come with a good recovery winch setup but of course the main idea is to get a rig that will not need to use one.

Pintle hook on the back and a trailer to suit would be good for a quad although power and fuel economy could be a show stopper.

The big question......worth a gamble???

Yeah good point it's probably in gvm weight not kerb. Still extremely heavy for what it is. My 416 UNIMOG is 3600kg and has a gvm of 5 tonnes.