Howdy

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Thanks for letting me join. have been going thru other posts trying to get an idea on what we should and shouldn't do. We are heading up near Sandstone for Easter total newbies to the game. I cant work at the moment due to these stupid restrictions being put on us so no use sitting on my ass at home. Got a couple of ATX's so any help would be welcome.

Hi Sprinter,
Firstly welcome to PA. I hope that you enjoy your new hobby.

Secondly, and this is the bit you may not want to hear.

Sell those 2 ATXs on gumtree, marketplace or wherever. Throw them in the bin if no-one buys them.
Get a Minelab either a SDC2300, GPX 4500/5000,GPX 6000 or a GPZ 7000.
Maybe rent one?
This is not a brand loyalty thing or a Holden/Ford thing its just that they are the only detectors that will give you a fighting chance of finding any gold.

Don't worry, many have been down this path before.

Hi Sprinter,

Sell those 2 ATXs on gumtree, marketplace or wherever. Throw them in the bin if no-one buys them.
Maybe rent one?
This is not a brand loyalty thing or a Holden/Ford thing its just that they are the only detectors that will give you a fighting chance of finding any gold.

Now this might be good advice to some extent but the ATX will find gold. We started out with an ATX and a Whites GMT and both found gold on our first trip away. We went for a week with a group where most but not all found gold but I got a 0.8g piece with the ATX and then followed it up with a 35g piece the following week before finding a 6g piece about a metre away the following day. The ATX went on to pay for its self before I sold it and bought a Minelab GPX4500 which is undoubtedly a better gold detector.