Minelab Gpx 5000 - using Fine Gold

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm just a bit worried I'm only targeting the small stuff. I have found plenty of subies around the .1 and .2 I just watched a YouTube vid and the bloke says the fine gold setting will miss targets at 18" down. Don't know what to believe as I am new to the 5000. Any help with settings would be much appreciated. What settings are other members running to?

Regards
Chuky boy.

Half your bloody luck having such an excellent machine, ChukyBoy. All the best with it.

Chuky boy said:
Hey guys. I'm just a bit worried I'm only targeting the small stuff. I have found plenty of subies around the .1 and .2 I just watched a YouTube vid and the bloke says the fine gold setting will miss targets at 18" down. Don't know what to believe as I am new to the 5000. Any help with settings would be much appreciated. What settings are other members running to?

Regards
Chuky boy.
Good ol' YouTube :lol:
The depth of gold using Fine Gold will be relative to the size, type & lay of the gold; the ground your detecting; the coil/coil size your using; other settings - gain, stab, etc. etc.; again most of which are dependent on ground, area & particular setting/situation.
From the size of the gold you have mentioned ( .1 - .2) there will be no timing, or detector for that matter, picking those up at 18" plus in mineralised ground! I know there have been some deep subgram finds with the GPZ & also using the new Coiltek & NF coils but 18" & over is a big ask on those.
As far as the special timings go Fine Gold will go deeper than Enhance or Sens Smooth in bad ground but if the ground allows it there are better timings to go to for deep nugget hunting:
http://www.detectorprospector.com/g...-gpx-4000-4500-5000-manuals-timing-charts.htm