False signals

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi

I'm new to metal detecting but have been very fortunate to receive a Minelab GPZ 7000. I've only been out 5 times and had some beginners luck along the way. However, one thing I have noticed is something I think the experienced would call 'false signals'. I expect its been much discussed on this forum before. Nevertheless, some advice about avoiding these would be appreciated. Yesterday at Heathcote we spent over half an hour digging an almighty hole to no avail. It goes something like this: I get a faint, but nice sounding, low to high signal on the detector. I scrape a bit and the signal gets a bit louder. Dig a bit more and the signal is still there. Dig a bit more and it kind of sounds the same. Dig a bit more and the signal is not really getting louder. If it was gold it would be starting to scream by now. Dig a bit more and the signal is just not going anywhere at all. Dig a bit more and the signal is the same or getting lower and indiscernible as to where it is. What on earth is this? Can these signals be avoided?

Powmill said:
Hi