Expanded mesh vs riffles. Marine carpet vs Miners moss the best setup

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys and girls,

I am looking for the best setup in my sluice box. I reckon I might be missing a little bit of the fine stuff whilst sluicing.

Whats everyone's take on the mesh versus "straight bar " riffles. I am kind of still new at this but I think that expanded mesh will be better with fine gold recovery than the bars just from the way the water runs over it. Has anyone run any trails with there own machines to see the different capture rates of fine versus course.

Whilst we are at it miners moss versus the marine carpet. I like the carpet as you get a little more riffle effect on the water. Though just thinking about it would the miners moss be better if I am using the expanded mesh for my extra riffles.

Do you have to do a clean out more often with carpet than with miners moss or vicer versa. Does Expanded mesh clog faster? Do you need more flow rate with the mesh or less?

What is best for fine gold?
What is best of coarse gold and nuggets?

Very interesting question. I'm in a similar situation wanting to build either my own high banker or sluice.

I've got an EZ Sluice which uses miners moss and straight bar type ripples but I haven't used it enough to give a real opinion about the config. I'm taking it out for a decent run this weekend so hopefully that will change.

I look forward to hearing what the more experienced guys have to say.

I don't think it really matters which combination you use.
It's all in the set up in the creek - the flow & angle & the volume of material put through the sluice.

What ever you use - you want the sections between the riffles to clear easy enough. If they clog up - then the riffle does nothing & gold goes out the end.