Airbrushing advice

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Goldtarget

(AKA OldGT)
Reaction score
I know you are a creative lot, so I thought Id ask here before any more Youtube videos.

Any advice youd give to a bloke with his L plates on?

Im a qualified painter, and have had the complete kit for a while doing a bit here and there but Id like to up my creativity.

Even a link would be great.

Cheers.

1593777110_266163e5-3311-4701-ac05-e1ed2d415c0c.jpg

I very much doubt I know more than you judging by that pic mate.

Id like to know what ratio paint to thinners is standard, what clear coat is decent and where to obtain stencils/guides.

Maybe also if theres handy cleaning tools available .

Hi old GT i will get my gear out of storage from my lure making days to show you the set up ,water filters,pressure regulator.

I cut all my own stencils with a hot knife ,the sheets of stuff i used i will have to get the name of it from my sister ,she uses it with the crafty ladies,

Any thing that has a edge on it can be used with air brushing ,ie a comb with different size gaps between the teeth,veil material with different sized and shaped mesh

The clear coat i used i got it from super cheap it is compatible with water based paints i will put it up later for you also so you get the right one

I got all my gear from airbrushmegastore.com they have videos for the newbies and sell every thing that you will need

Awesome guys, I knew you would be a good resource if I asked the question, with a bit of luck I can get set up later today after I finish a few more tasjs Mrs GT has on the list for me.

paints and stencils.
I make timber lures, so a lot of sanding first. then filler/primer.
then a base coat of white.