advice wanted please

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
hi,

I am new to prospecting and will be heading out of sydney next week sometime to try my luck, I would like to ask for some help / advice on where I can go through some public / crown land or old gold fields not too far from sydney, i have been advised that hill end is mainly private owned land, can someone please point us in the right direction we we could go and enjoy nature and have a go at this exciting hobby.

I am also after a used gold detector if anyone is selling or thinking of upgrading up to $400 at this stage until i get a little bit of experience.

Thanks in advance

George

Hi George. You've posted in the right place, most people are celebrating Easter with their families so it might be a little quiet today.

There's still plenty of accessible land in Hill End and from what I hear there's still some nice gold being found via the Metal Detector, check out Gold Detecting in Hill End on YouTube.

Another place you might want to check out is the Turon River at Sofala (just outside Bathurst), it's only about 3 hours from Sydney and worth the trip if your into panning, sluicing or high-banking.

Cheers,
Nugget

thanks for your help Nugget appreciate it, thinking of hillend just trying to source more info where i can and cant go, just cant seem to find and info on locations to go so I can forward plan my trip

No worries, I won't be at my computer for most of today but when I get a chance I'll try to find some information and post it up for you.

George coming from sydney you will turn off at sofola to go to hill end. unless you are going to come in along the bridle track which begins at bathurst