which side does gold shed to

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
ok all the experts, this has perplexed me for some time, when detecting for gold does gold shed to the east or west of a hill?
I have spoken to professionals and those in the know,and I reckon its about a fifty-fifty split
Myself and a mate leaned towards it shedding to east and results would seem to indicate this.
I have how ever been told emphatically by experts that it definitely sheds to the west.
I value the opinions of others and would love to also hear a simple explanation as to why you have come to that conclusion and of course which side you think gold sheds to, or if it sheds both sides

I am no expert but gold is where it is and sheds down hill , i think each area has a pattern of more mines on one side of the slopes than the other and other areas are opposite .
Not really breaking news but thats my take on it

Bloody good question as I've often wondered myself. Most gold I've found off the side of reefs has been to the east, with a very small amount on the west side. No idea as to why and I'm no expert very far from it but just my experiences.

Hi MM
Good question and am interested on people's view.
The only thing I've read is that in Vic most of the weather comes from the west so the west side of a hill gets most of the weather and why erosion occurs more on the west side. This seems logical.
It's interesting your experience is finding more on the east ....... Perhaps the west sides have been flogged and the east is relatively fresh ground.
I'll watch this post to see what others think.
Cheers