Wenlock River Stones

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Una

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
I am new to the forum, I am an artist up on Cape York and have lived up this way for 30 odd years..
Sorry if I have stuck this post in the wrong thread... I wasn't sure where to put it..
I have been looking at some stones that have been collected from the Wenlock and am wondering if anyone can give me any advise on what I am looking at..
I would say that 70% of the stones have these beautiful teeny little bright yellow 'gold' seams running over them.. How would I be able to work out if its gold, or if its pyrite? Is there any way to tell?
I was going to paint the stones but it would seem such a waste of a beautiful stone if it had a teeny shimmer of gold naturally on it instead hahahaaaa
Thank you for any help in advance
7d30c356-def5-4123-a9d7-b76eebdcb58c.jpg

Hi there and welcome to the forum. You could try putting a drop of Hydrochloric Acid on a small section of the suspected gold, if it does not change or dissolve then it would most likely be gold as gold is not damaged by HCL but Pyrite is.

All the best with it, hope it is gold.

Hello.. Thank's for the welcome and advise, I will give that a go.. I am not sure which I am hoping it to be hahaaaa :p

No I haven't yet.. but i think I might take one outside and give it a gentle wack to see..
I don't have any acid but have just phoned someone who thinks they do... If they do I will take some over to their place later this afternoon to do a little acid testing too..

**Okay scrap the gentle wack idea... seems I am not skilled enough to open one hahahaaaa

None of the stones have any 'blue' lazurite streaking to them.. Only just these tiny gold veins..
Am I right in thinking the gold colour in Lapis lazuli is Pyrite?