Test Panning

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys,

When test panning, how many specs would generally indicate a good spot to continue with vs an indicator to move on?

I've been panning around Oberon area, and tend to get between 1 and 4 specs per pan in the areas of tried so far.

I'm really new to this hobby, so any advice would really be appreciated.

Kind Regard,
M

yeah - fly poo.

Sounds like a need to make myself a WalBanker to get volume through?

I made one of those bucket classifiers, filled it with dirt and stones, then poured water through it as I worked it from side to side (washing the rocks quite well). I then panned the sludge left behind. Got a couple of chunks, but mostly specs.

Hey Tathradj, have you done much prospecting around Cathcart/Bombala/Craigie/Delegate/Bendoc areas? I was brought up around Bendoc, and my folks now live north of Cathcart. Just wondering whether the Bombala river (just south of Brown Mtn) produces anything as it runs through my parents' property.

Regards,
M

In very general terms, if an area is giving a couple of specs..... here and there....... then id move on. Obviously it means you are in a gold area but its not enough to warrant having a crack. By moving on I mean walking another 5 or 10m and trying again.

Having said that, you may be only a few feet away from something more special. Gold can be tricky like that and full of surprises....like the time we must have done 30+ surface test pans in a 50m spread for almost no visible specs in any sample.....but we knew we were in a gold spot so then picked a likely "concentration" spot and dug down. Must have been the 3 foot mark when we hit "picker" territory....... still no specs, just pickers. Go figure.