NF Evolution and coiltek elite false signals

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, i have just got myself a NF 17x13 evo took it out for a couple of hours in my usual spot, I found it gives me heaps of false signals, Same thing happens with my 14inch elite. Just thought I would get some options on settings for these coils on my new 4500. I usually run on the front cap, general, enhance, fixed and mono. Rear cap, vol limit 13, motion slow, rx gain 9, audio quiet, tone 50, stab 8, signal 17, target vol 10. It's Maybe just the real hot ground I'm in, but I don't want to dumb down the detector to much if possible. Cheers Liam

Hi mate i pretty much run the same settings using the 15" evo on the 5000, but alter the rx and stab when the ground permits. I'm still a newbie myself, but I'm guessing the red hot ground is giving you those false signals. Wet ground and the likes of charcoal will also tend to give you falae signalls. From my experience, over time you'll start to be able to distinguish between false signals and targets. Rule of thumb, it's always ideal to investigate all signals....even if it doesn't sound like gold. Hope that helps. :Y:

Cheers Noogle, maybe it's just the sensitivity of these new coils that I'm not used to. Been running the 11 inch commander with very few false signals.

Do a factory reset and then set up from there ..................... worked for me Thanks to info from a learned colleague :Y:

The 11" commander is an awesome coil....had it glued to the 5000 for almost a year. For me, the new evo has taken some time to get used to....and like you said it is more sensitive when compared to the 11". Also, its just an idea, but I always carry a small nugget with me and wave the coil I'm using over it...just to remind me of what gold may sound like ( what the coil is telling me).