Hi I'm a newbie

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
G'day everyone,

I have been reading this forum for some time I thought it was about time I introduced myself.

My name is Googs ,I live in Tassie and have a passion for Gold like all of you people, my plan is to purchase a 5000 and start teaching myself to detect , hopefully with much help from this Forum.

We will stop in Tassie for the next year and after that head to the main land and tour around for a few years and pick up a bit of work here and there and spend lots of time in the Gold fields, I hope this new hobby I have will give me as much enjoyment as I have read from you guys on this forum.

Googs :lol:

Welcome aboard Googs, what part of Tassie are you from? Loads of spots with great potential down there, they dont seem to get as much attention as the main land locations. Plenty of old relic sites too.
Goodluck on your new adventure.

DD

Hi Diggerdude, I'm from a small country town call Carrick in the north of the state about 20 minutes from Launceston. I think I will be doing a few trip to the west coast that a nice part of the state .

Googs

Nice part of the world there Googs. I connected the gas to the Longford meat works about 10years ago which isn't far from you.
Beaconsfield isn't too far, I have been told that you can now get permission to fossick on the leases up there if you contact the mine.
Beautiful over the west coast but tough going swinging a detector most of the good areas are severely overgrown. Some good spots north and east of Launie though.
Goodluck with it.

DD

Welcome Googs,

DD took the words right out of my mouth there, in that Tassie is a beautiful part of the world and I'd love to get down there for a visit one day. Great to see a few people showing up from down that way.

Kindest regards,
Shauno.