G'day from Ditherer and Son

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all,

We're from Newcastle

My old dad and I have been prospecting for nearly 40 years, on and off....mostly off.

I am the son half of the "Ditherer and Son" - which, as a name probably won't lead to worldwide stardom or internet notoriety...perhaps I should use an acronym of say "Son of Dithererer"...which would be SOD...hmmm innapropriate...? I think I will settle for "Ditherer" as my short name, as I believe I am genetically pre-disposed to late-onset Dithering...thanks Dad for THAT gene. Like father like son.

In my early 40's, I am now at about the same age that he was when he used to take my little brother and I prospecting in the 70's and 80's. Back in those days dredging was allowed, and he used to do a bit of that with his home made dredge. I remember like it was yesterday, it floated on two tractor innertubes and was powered by a Briggs and Stratton 3/4 HP vertical shaft motor....... I actually typed all of that without drawing breath or consciously thinking.... you can see how ingrained in my memory those things are....you perhaps can tell that I have had gold fever for effectively all of my life.

We never even got that much gold when I was a kid.....but they were great times, the best times for a father and sons.

In more recent years, now that I have some more spare time and he's retired, he and I make the effort to go off for a 5 day prospecting stint a couple of times a year.

We've spent a lot of trips fruitlessly in the Barringtons and Copeland, and a few trips to Nundle over the years.

In more recent years we have been going out to Ophir. This was a turning point. We started finding gold!...more than all of our previous trips combined....do you think this sort of thing is likely to cure my mid-life gold fever? errr No.