Gday all

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rodstar

Rod Jones
Reaction score
Hello everyone my name is Rod and i work as an accountant up in North QLD. I bought a GP 3500 a month ago and am still mucking around with the settings, but enjoying it :) ive also got some pans but thats about it.
i have been reading your forums and you appear a very friendly bunch with an abundance knowledge and ideas. i loved the all the gear you make your self, i used to be a boiler maker, and im super keen to start making my own gear. ideas are flowing through my head every day! I just dont have enough time to do everything!!

I am still researching places to go up here, im a bit croc wary as ive only been up here for three years.....
i have managed to get out a few times detecting in the bush, my girlfriend and me really enjoy getting out into nature and exploring, the sights and experiences are breath taking. anyway i havnt found any gold which is ok cause we are only new at it. we get really excited just digging junk up lol. our first experience we panned and detected and i found 10 cents under a tree root about 150mm down, it had been there a long time as the surface coating had virtually come away. we call it "the coin of hope". lol !!

So my plan is to travel to the many ghosts towns around up here and start out looking for relics and to expore our beautiful country side. we are also researching QLD and were to go to look for gold and gems and have a trip planned over xmas time to travel around QLD exploring, detecting, panning and camping. Lifes good :)

G'day Rod,

You are not far from Charters Towers.

Lived in Townsville for 12 years and loved it.

Good luck and hope to see some photos of some nice finds.