Garrett AT Gold vs. MineLabs Eureka Gold

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
(I always try to do a solid search of the forums and the net before I make a new thread but, I was surprised to find very little on this comparison.)
I'm going to buy a detector soon and I'll buy a cheap $100 unit but, then I'd like to buy a top of the line VLF. Then buy a PI.

Now I'm a newbie and some of you will cringe with these points but, I'm thinking these are the top VLF from 2 of the best brands. So that's something.
The price is about the same but, I'm seeing some cheaper used AT Golds. Now the 2 things bugging me are this. I think the Eureka Gold "may" be the better machine for finding gold. However, I have to admit the LCD display on the AT is cool (for a newbie) . I also like the waterproofness of the AT. I think I'll be doing some detecting in areas where it will be wet and I like the idea if putting the detector underwater.

The Eureka does have the 60kHz where the AT only goes to 18.

What do you guys think?

If you'll be doing any relic hunting or coin shooting, the AT Gold seems to de very well for those. I'm happy with mine but I'm only just learning to use it.

The thing about comparisons is to provide an accurate one you must have used both machines extensively.

Here's a couple of things to consider when deciding on which detector you should buy;

• What is your maximum budget.[/*]
  • What specific features are you looking for.[/*]
  • What type/s of detecting will you be doing.[/*]
  • Where will you primarily be detecting (certain ground calls for certain machines).[/*]
  • How much detecting are you planning on doing (now the question of "how much should you really be spending" comes into play). [/*]