First piece of equipment

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey all

As per the introduction post, I'm a newby, guess that has been said too many times on here.

The more I read the more I learn.

I'm would like to get my first piece of equipment shortly, what do you think it should be? Would love to get a gpx5000 but mrs will kill me if I got it at the moment.

Also what would be the suggested equipment list one should have?

Welcome aboard Goldenhodge.

First thing would be a gold pan.
There's lots of different coloured, riffle design, shapes out there but they all will work.

A simple black pan for around $12 will get you started.

There's a thread somewhere on this forum about your question re: equipment list.

Hi Goldenhodge,
I'm new at this too, so I can only speak from what I've learned from research here and from other prospectors I know.
A gold pan is a must if you're going to be prospecting near water. This is obvious, but some seem to overlook this tried and true tool that the original prospectors depended on.
A Sluice is a great item to have near water as well....multiplies your panning efforts.
A metal detector for finding the nuggets......get the best one you can afford......it will hopefully pay for itself many times over in the years to come!
A quality prospecting pick.
A small shovel.
A GPS for marking where you're finding gold.

Good luck out there!

Thanks for the replies guys, greatly appreciated.

mbasko i have read so much and guess was just wondering from everyones perspective what would be their first choice and thought I would add the other q.

Thanks for the links also :)

Also I heading to the US at the end of the month, unfortunately to not commence the new hobby, but to go on a much deserved holiday!