Finding lots of quartz, but no gold

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm relatively new to the prospecting scene. I recently purchased a sluice, and have taken it out and dug a few holes in the riverbed of a creek close to home.
Yesterday whilst digging in the creek, i was coming across a LOT of quartz. Each time i classified my dirt/sands, i was finding heaps of pieces of quartz ranging from fingernail size to tennis ball size.
After processing 5 or 6 buckets of dirt/sands down my sluice, i still found nothing.
I was reading online that if you find quartz, its a good sign that gold could be nearby. Is this true?
Should i concentrate on digging the embankment of the creek rather that the actual creek bed itself?
Its all just a bit confusing for me at the moment!

Unfortunately Quartz does not necessarily mean gold Boyd. Quartz is the most prolific mineral on the planet. Before you dig the banks check the nearest rock bar and dig a couple of crevices....look for black sand and ironstone. If these aren't present then give the creek a miss. If there's no evidence of old diggings along the creek or within a few ks of the creek, then chances are you won't find much gold. Research the gold bearing areas nearest to you ,and even if it means a bit of travel concentrate on these creeks instead....Cheers Wal. :)