Dreams and Associated Good Luck / Superstitions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok, I've decided that I'll start this Thread. I've always prided myself in being a rather Scientific and fairly well educated kind of person, and have been known in the past to scoff at superstitions and associated religious mumbo-jumbo.

However.............. Whether or not there actually IS such a thing as Gold Fever like I keep reading about on here and on other forums, I have noticed that in recent times I have started to become, well- dare I say it?- Superstitious with regard to my prospecting. I'm almost embarrassed to say it, in fact my wife who is a Medical Scientist by profession, Non religious and a person only interested in data and facts, has started to take interest in my reverting to apparent caveman-like attention to omens and portents.

I wonder if, from a Psychologists point of view I have tapped into that ancient fear of famine and failed crops etc (you know, the one that used to make us sacrifice other humans prior to sewing our crops, or doing other whacko things before going on a hunt etc).

As a relative newbie to prospecting of course, I am well aware of my propensity to clutch at straws (Hey, straws are much easier to clutch at than reading the 5000 manual over and over, or studying all of the geovic layers for any particular area, or gridding the same area over and over with each different size coil/ setting in the kit).

You probably have all read at some time the story of the late Kevin Hillier and his dream about a huge gold nugget, that was claimed to have been drawn on a piece of paper and signed by a witness prior to him finding the Hand of Faith. The drawing is very much like the shape of the nugget eventually found.

1557541299_handoffaithdream.jpg