Do Modern Detectors see into Rock and Quartz?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this and trying to get some info so that i can figure out what machine to buy and how and where to start playing.

The area that i intend to start in is in some wet and dry creek beds, and surrounding valleys in Northern Queensland.

So my first question is i know that gold has been found in different locations in the surrounding area (within 5 klm radius of my chosen site), but when i have walked the areas that i would like to start in its covered in heaps of granite and quartz etc.

So do detectors actually see into solid objects like stone or crystal etc? And if so to what sort of depth?

What I'm trying to do is to determine do i have to scan over the rocks etc, or move all of them out of the way to get to the bottom of the creek beds etc.

Sorry if this seems like a vague question, hopefully the questions will get better as i learn :)

Thanks in advance,

Matthew

Hey Matthew, as i discovered today a detector has absolutely no problem detecting past alot of rocks etc UNLESS the rock contains alot of iron.
Ps Im using a garrett AT gold, incredible depth on the thing, dug a pull tab about a metre deep

Yes they do, no probs. Have found quite a few species of gold in quartz over the years as well as gold in ironstone. Also nuggets under large rocks as well. The Minelab PI's have no problems with gold in ironstone. I got a 5 gram bit once under a rock that was about 10 inches thick just showing on the surface with the nugget a couple of inches under that in the clay.

1370432641_img_3667a.jpg