Basic gold prospecting equipment

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ok seeing as I didn't win the turbopan lol. :p I am looking to buy a couple basic gold pans (dont want to spend much on these atm) and a good digging tool, thinking a lestch (or however it's spelt lol. :) - happy to spend a reasonable amount for a good tool.

Hoping to find a shop in Canberra that sells both, while I can buy online I would prefer to be able to speak to a knowledgable sales person who might be willing to share some tips and tricks along with the sale lol. :)

Anyone know of a Shop in Canberra that sells both items?

Hi sarn. I'm not very experienced but do believe in research.
It seems the Garrett super sluice pan is very popular.
I have a cheapy pan, a turbopan and just bought a Super sluice. It does seem easy to use for beginners.
On the recent Nundle get together I got a look at the Garrett Deluxe pan set. Seems to cover all you need to start out. A couple of pans sand a sieve....
Good luck on your hunt for the yellow.

Rod

14" Garrett pan is a good all rounder - I have the 15" Garrett Super Sluice too but find it a bit heavy & awkward as my main pan(i just use it as my clean up pan as it's got a nice big bottom.

If you're just panning then there's no need for fancy digging tools.

Shovel, classifier, yabby pump, scoops, spoons, etc.

Ag Man said:
14" Garrett pan is a good all rounder.

I agree with Ag man. 14" Garrett super sluice is easy to use. I got a kit from Miners den that included 14" pan, 10" clean up pan, classifier, twizzers with magnifing glass, some vials and small book on how to use it. It was $72 plus $10 shipping.
http://www.minersden.com.au/garrett-gold-panning-kit/
That is a good beginer kit and has all you need to start.

Hey call me a cheapskate but a very basic kit that travels with me everywhere is .....