Another Newbie

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

We are off to Lightning Ridge next weekend to try our luck. But after arranging everything, I did some reading on here, then rang the mining department up there, to find out that you can only fossick in front of the info centre, unless you know someone with a claim. Disappointing. I heard that the large heaps at Grawin were still available, but the girl on the phone at the Department steered me off from there too? Does anyone have further information on anywhere else in the area we could have a go at fossicking? Any advise would be much appreciated :)

Hi Lisa and all other members,
I am a newbie too. I have recently retired from a 7 day a week small business and my wife kindly bought me a second hand minelab GPX 4500 as a retirement present.
We live on the west coast of SA, good for fishing but not gold detecting so-
Our aim is to travel our great country wife bird watching and me swinging the detector. We have booked in on a tag along trip in the western goldfields May next year with the aim of camping, birdwatching and a bit of detecting.
Am currently reading, reading and doing more reading of books, forums etc.
I must say reading this forum shows me what a good bunch of members you are with sharing techniques and ideas.
Hope to see you out there and hope I can contribute.
Cheers
Bob

Hi Bob, welcome to the forum. Congrats on your retirement and i hope you enjoy the tag a long with some success as well. It's a great bunch of people we have here and don't do it all at once.
Jaros :p :p

Lisa27 said:
Hi everyone,