Parkes / Forbes NSW information and questions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys has anyone had any luck out Forbes/Parkes way? I know it's gold country and there are lots of mines but 99% is private property farmland.
Just wondering if anyone else has been out this way?

Anyone can give me a hint on where to look? Every where seems to be private property :(

Mackka said:
Don't go under the telescope in Forbes mate you might get fried.
Mackka :p :lol: :lol: :lol:

You're quite safe under the telescope at Forbes :D :D , but don't go under the one just outside of Parkes

Hi all.

I'm new to the addiction of gold and have been making the trips to Adelong for the chunky river gold. I am just wondering if there are any people around Forves or Parkes that are able to put me in the right direction to save the drive. My theory is there has to be gold somewhere here as the old timers didn't just dig 60 metres in the hope to find it, so where could I fossick/detect/pan within a reasonable distance. My next spot will be near young I think but if there's somewhere within half an hlur to an hours drive I'd be stoked.

Cheers
PhoenixGold

Check Minview

1563881454_parkes.jpg

You need to research whether private property, National Park or SF

Damn - had to edit as link for minview did not work

Just google Minview and check the map
You can add the layers you want

Tathradj, my understanding is that it is ore. Am I wrong in thinking this? Don't want to try get on a property to find it all has to be processed rather than finding the odd nigget here or there