Newbie here

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MJB

matt
Reaction score
Hi All,

My names Matt from Mt. Gambier SA but originally from Brisbane. I am just getting into gold prospecting and I have the Fever bad!! The closest place to go fossicking to me is in Ararat, 2.5 hours away and have been there a couple of times and was stoked to see a little colour in my pan...and I mean a little.

I am keen to get out there and meet fellow prospectors and learn as much as I can whilst enjoying this great country and hopefully finding a little more yellow stuff along the way.

Hopefully I wil get a chance to meet up with some of you in the future.

Cheers,
Matt

Hi Matt - you may have one closer than you think. There are actual historic records of gold near Coleraine/Glenelg River which is just over the border from you. Now there's a research area for you! For example, Gold Warden Fenwich visited the 'Coleraine Goldfields' in the 1800s. (Commissioners and Wardens Reports).

Good luck.

Welcome Matt, you're come to the right place to assist in managing your gold fever. There's plenty of helpful info scattered around the place and if there's anything you can't find the answer to, please don't hesitate to ask.

Nugget.

my local doctor told me the best cure for gold fever is to take two nuggets and run around yahoo'ing and yelling out in joy.

i suggest you give it a try in your local creek

have fun out there mate :)

Ha Ha..

Thanks for the welcome guys. Thanks for the info Loamer, I am going to start researching about that one straight away. I might have to try that cure for gold fever too but I just need those two nuggets first. :lol:
Cheers,
Matt

Loamer...

Where are you getting all this great info from..?
Is it from the GEOVIC3 MAPS...?

Cheers
OZ