Military Exercises

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
A few times a year, we were sent on combined live fire exercises with the Airforce and Navy to practice calling in fire support from Navy ships and Aircraft. At the time I was an FO radio operator in an artillery forward observers party.
It was an amazing experience to call in a fire mission and watch from a safe observation point ,the fighter jets flying in on their bombing or strafing runs..
The best experience was doing air OP’s and contour flying in a Army kiowa helicopters.
Those guys could really fly close to the ground..

Last edited:
A few times a year, we were sent on combined live fire exercises with the Airforce and Navy to practice calling in fire support from Navy ships and Aircraft. At the time I was an FO radio operator in an artillery forward observers party.
It was an amazing experience to call in a fire mission and watch from a safe observation point ,the fighter jets flying in on their bombing or strafing runs..
The best experience was doing air OP’s and contour flying in a Army kiowa helicopters.
Those guys could really fly close to the ground..
I was company sig on a battalion exercise in about 1987, and my OC and CSM were calling in live fire from an Iraquois. The OC told me,"this will probably be the only chance you ever get to do this, so adjust the fire onto the target" he was right, it was the only time I ever got to adjust live artillery onto a target, and from a chopper!

I was company sig on a battalion exercise in about 1987, and my OC and CSM were calling in live fire from an Iraquois. The OC told me,"this will probably be the only chance you ever get to do this, so adjust the fire onto the target" he was right, it was the only time I ever got to adjust live artillery onto a target, and from a chopper!
Great memories Davent