highbanker pump, refueling?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Watched a few vids of highbanking and it was said in one of them that when you stop and restart the highbanking, the material is swirled arround alot more therefore you can lose material. This was proven by showing an example where all the black sands made it's way to the end of the sluice after a restart. So it got me worried and on the weekend I did a clean up after the tank ran out. But I would rather have running for alot longer. So I am now curious, is it possible to refuel the highbanker whilst it is running, when the fuel gets low? Or is this a big no no? My pump is only small 2 stroke petrol pump and needs refilling after 40 minutes of run time. Cheers

Im no expert and theres every chance ill be corrected by someone lol but i dont see any reason why after an elapsed period of time u couldnt just open the tank and top it up on the go...ive done it several times with a mower and never had a problem. The only time it MAY is if the level has gotten so low that it starts taking air but even then i suspect it may only cough and splutter a bit until it gets it fill of fuel again. As i say im no expert with water pumps though and am curious to see other opinions.

I see no reason why you cannot stop your pump when using a HB - before you switch off the pump put a pan under the end to catch anything that might drop out unexpectedly. And keep the pan there when you re-start the pump.

With my Walbanker, I switch off the pump regularly. I have never seen any gold drop out into my pan - such is the effective holding capability of the Walbanker design (matting plus bread crate).

On the other hand, using a pump with an Angus MacKirk sluice and switching off the pump will certainly spew out fines and gold.