Hi all, newbie here :)

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Thought I should write and introduce myself.

I am from Canberra and have been detecting for a few months now. I am lucky enough to have a site that dates back to the early 1800's that's quite large and have been having fun finding old coins, 1929 half penny, and relics.

I am also starting out gold prospecting and trying to figure out my detector with that, it's an X-Terra 705, but believe I will leave that to another forum.

Anyway, hello all and I look forward to reading and interacting in some interesting threads.

Merry

G'day Merry, welcome on board. There is plenty of folk on here that will be able to steer you in the right direction with the 705. You're lucky to be able to get old sites to check out, they are becoming a bit harder to find these days. I guess that is a good thing if you stumble onto one. Anyway I am sure you will enjoy this site. Look forward to seeing pics of your finds when you are able to post them. Cheers, Rick.

Welcome to the forum Merry. Great to see some more from the Capital getting on board. Hope the forum can be of help with research and inspiration, and hope to see some pics of the relics and coins when they come to light .

Best of luck with it,

Cheers Wal.

Thank you Rick and Wal :)

Started on house sites that were built in the 1800's and finding some interesting relics. One of them has the owner that was buried next to it in the late 1800's so I am hoping he doesn't have any gold teeth! :p

Merry