Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maddyrose

Just a rock fan
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm not a professional at all. I went to Coober Pedy back in 2017 - and had the best time.
I'm just here because I would love to noodle for opals again, but I don't want to do anything illegal and I don't know how to get permission in certain areas

Thanks Maddy

I don't know your NSW rules but I think your local Mines Department would give you the most reliable information. Apart from that I'd give the Tourist Information Centre in Glen Innes a call.

I don't know your NSW rules but I think your local Mines Department would give you the most reliable information. Apart from that I'd give the Tourist Information Centre in Glen Innes a call.
Oo that's such a good idea. I will. I was looking at lightning ridge (because I've never been) and there was a lot of information about dumping areas being on private property

An overview of each states rules can be found here:
https://www.prospectingaustralia.co...ecting-regulations-all-australian-states.125/
Mackka would be correct about noodling/fossicking at Lightning Ridge.
The dumps out at Grawin that were popular are now closed to the public.
Other public areas are few & far between with only a handful of small tourist dumps (some of which are at various tourist attractions & requires payment).

An overview of each states rules can be found here:
https://www.prospectingaustralia.co...ecting-regulations-all-australian-states.125/
Mackka would be correct about noodling/fossicking at Lightning Ridge.
The dumps out at Grawin that were popular are now closed to the public.
Other public areas are few & far between with only a handful of small tourist dumps (some of which are at various tourist attractions & requires payment).