Hello there from a detecting virgin.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I just took delivery yesterday of a new Minelab CTX 3030 and accessories. I have never used a metal detector before and will be starting from scratch today. Any beginners tips? I am a retired cop looking for something to do and thought I'd give this a go. I have enjoyed doing some homework on some local interesting sites, I think I have found some untouched virgin heritage areas that could provide some interesting coins and artefacts. Hers hoping, wish me luck and I'll let you know how I go. Again, any beginners advice? Pretty please....

If Minelab offer a training day for the CTX3030 I would be doing it. Have heard it takes a bit to work out but once you do its a very capable/versatile machine. Be interested to hear how you find it.

I'm just watching some YouTube instruction videos on it now. A bit more to it than I presumed...

Be careful if they are heritage listed as we do not endorse detecting such sites, as it will bring the hobby into disrepute, but research and a good detector will bring rewards and it sounds like you have both, Hope you find heaps

Fired it up this arvo in the backyard to do some simple training like shown in the manual and once I'd practised the different tones gave it a swing around the yard. Got my first finds, a 1978 2 cent coin and a 1976 1 cent coin plus some trash. It works! Anyway I'm aware about heritage listings and to keep our hobby reputable in everyones eyes. I'm going to start in some local parks to improve my skills and then chase an old 19th century racecourse site. Thanks everybody.

robowood said: