Gold Panning first try

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys as in my recent post I'm new to the prospecting game
Have never been out to try my luck with the pan or detector so in
Perpetration for our first trip I thought I'd try panning for gold at home!
I'm very limited on time with the kids and work to be able to get out much
And didn't want to pan dirt with some lead shavings or anything like that,
I wanted to see yellow in the bottom of that pan!! So the missus headed out
To Aussie disposals, bought a couple of cheap pans and I set off (on my computer haha)
On eBay, found myself some pay dirt, now I know what everyone is thinking (what a waste of money)
But for 25 bucks I picked up a bag of paydirt from Queensland with some seeded and natural gold!
Recieved it in the mail today, I think I was more excited than the kids were haha
As I opened the bag tipped it in the pan straight away I seen a flash of gold! My son and I
Proceeded to the back yard filled up a big bucket of water and we were panning,
One thing I noticed straight away was the guys in the you tube videos make this look very easy!!
We all had a turn at swirling the dirt around, shaking, shaking, wiggling, wiggling. We took our time
Because we were so scared to lose one little precious piece! We got right to the last bit of fine sand tilted
The pan back and to our surpise in the corner of the pan at least 15 flakes of gold!!!
The look on my sons face and the excitement was unreal!!
All I can say is I would pay 25 bucks any day of the week to sit out back with my boy for half an hour and see that smile
From ear to ear, I've put up some pics (hope they work)
And looking for to our trip to laanecoorie hopefully abit more panning and detecting we'll find some more yellow in the dirt,