getting stones cut

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have only just started getting into the gemstone side of fossicking. A mate and I spent a few days over at Grubben Gullen and found a few stones. Nothing to retire on but enough to keep me interested. I have no experience in cutting stones and don't really know anyone that does it.
My question is; I have searched the forum and googled about getting gemstones cut. I see that there are a few people that have sent their stones overseas to have this done. So I decided to try my luck and sent some stones over to a place called Lamberts in Thailand. Just wondering what everyones experience with Lamberts have been like and if they actually got their stones back. I am a little apprehensive about what the result will be.
Thanks
Jason.

I have recently googled the exact same issue and found that mostly everyones happy enough with what they get back quality wise, but remember that you get what you pay for. And also it will take a lot longer than you think to get your sstones back, but you will get them eventually.

Im opting for a couple of stones to be cut locally first then once i have some quantity in the smaller stuff i will start sending packs to lamberts

my rule of thumb is anything under 2-3 carats goes to lamberts unless its really clear and high quality. there are small flaws but lamberts is getting better and they come out fine especially for the price. They can take some time depending on their work load so be prepared it may take up to 3 months sometimes. But they have a reputation now so u will get back what u send. they send back all the rough that isnt worth cutting also.