AT-PRO/GOLD NiMH Rechargeable Batteries

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I was at the local store shopping for batteries for the AT-GOLD and decided it's probably time to invest in a set of rechargeable.

I'm no expert in rechargeable but I ended up getting an Energizer Recharge Smart charging unit [2450mAh Batteries Included] + an extra set of Energizer Extreme 2300mAh, which strangely enough claim to last considerably longer than the 2450mAh variant and has a lower discharge rate.

I'm yet to test these out but wanted to ask if anyone here has used either the 2450mAh or 2300mAh batteries in the AT-PRO or AT-GOLD and can comment on the performance and reliability. Or even better if you've used both variants and can comment on any differences between the two.

That's what I figured.

The other thing is the instructions that came with the charger says to charge batteries before use (the ones that come with it), but when I turn the charger on it lights up then switches off almost to say there're done. On the packet of the 2300mAh batteries it says ready to go :S

I will test them out tomorrow to be sure but do you think the batteries that came with the charger might be shipped pre-charged?

Hi, I tried energizers about 5 years ago but found after 3-4 months they no longer held charge for long. I was put onto eneloop batteries & thes have been great I now swear by these & are now my prefered choice.

Nugget said:
The other thing is the instructions that came with the charger says to charge batteries before use (the ones that come with it), but when I turn the charger on it lights up then switches off almost to say there're done. On the packet of the 2300mAh batteries it says ready to go :S

I will test them out tomorrow to be sure but do you think the batteries that came with the charger might be shipped pre-charged?