Advice please!

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AC

Reaction score
Hello all,

My first post here and I am seeking some advice.

I'm fairly new to detecting and have mostly played around on the beach and an old military area with limited results, but had fun anyway.

I'm off to a property near Forbes/Grenfell NSW where I have had a bit of a look with the detector previously (old rabbit trap anyone?). The general area has some old mines (a few miles away), so I think it is worth more of a look. My problem is I don't know where is the most likely spot on the property. It backs on to a fairly steep mountain, but is generally flat. Would I be best in the few 'wash aways', Creek beds, the side of the mountain, areas where there is quartz on the surface, the ploughed paddocks or none of the above?

I'm using an X-Terra 705 and I'll put on the 18.75kHz Double D coil.

I would be pleased with just general advice, so thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

Alan.

G'day Alan, that's the great thing about gold mate, look in all of the above mentioned spots it could be anywhere. Try test panning the creeks first to see if there is any color in there, then try having a swing. That's why you will often here the phrase 'gold is where you find it'. Good luck and welcome aboard.

DD