New to metal detecting

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All,
I am very new to the metal detecting and this forum
While I am still working out how to use a forum (Lol)
I would to say my wife has given me a go-ahead on buying my first mid range detector.
After doing a lot of research and my budget I'm undecided with the NOKTA FORS GOLD PLUS & the Makro Gold Racer.
They are both in my budget and if I'm on the right track. My question is what is the best one out the 2 for gold detection in mineralised ground.
I know min labs Pi detectors are the best, it comes down to the budget any help would be very grateful
Regards

Welcome to the forum Grahamsgold.

Unfortunately you will struggle with both of those machines in mineralised ground. If you look around you may be able to find yourself a second hand SDC2300 which would be a far better machine and give you more of a chance of finding gold. I honestly think that if you get one of those other machines, you will either give up entirely due to the frustration or you will sell it within months (and lose money on it) to upgrade to a better machine. I see it so often on these forums and Facebook where people get a machine not really suited to their needs. Unfortunately to consistently find gold (and that sometimes can be a struggle) you will need to get a reasonable machine designed for the ground you wish to hunt in.

Hope this helps
regards Pat.