What have I found?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
In the pic, bottom left, there is a 12 volt alternator that has obviously been added. My guess would be so they could use a starter motor to fire it up. As for the four pointer, I have been a surveyor since the late 1960s and personally haven't seen that form of survey mark, I think the clue might lay in the metal piece protruding to the SW or bottom left of the pic and a faint mark in the cement just south of east point approx I,at Ely 90 degrees to the piece of iron. Personally being found close to a station I would think it would be railway related maybe as others have said signifying points setting

I doubt it’s rail related (unless it’s some weird rail-specific survey mark).

Railway ”Points” (aka switches, turnouts, crossovers etc) are traditionally marked ”N” for “Normal”, and “R” for “Reverse”. “Normal”, is usually for the “straight” position. ”Reverse” is usually for the diverging route.
Just because rail is different, sometimes the “Normal” position, is for the diverging path.

Remember, there’s the right way, the wrong way, and the railway…

In the pic, bottom left, there is a 12 volt alternator that has obviously been added. My guess would be so they could use a starter motor to fire it up. As for the four pointer, I have been a surveyor since the late 1960s and personally haven't seen that form of survey mark, I think the clue might lay in the metal piece protruding to the SW or bottom left of the pic and a faint mark in the cement just south of east point approx I,at Ely 90 degrees to the piece of iron. Personally being found close to a station I would think it would be railway related maybe as others have said signifying points setting

I think the clue will be on the treasure map if I can locate it ;)