what detector to take to Scotland?

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all, I have over 30 years experience in metal detecting for gold but not for relics apart from messing around a bit down the beach with an old gold bug that I have. I am thinking of going to visit a friend in Scotland and wouldn't mind doing some detecting over there. So, all you experienced guys - what would you take if you were me?

Cheers
Stingray

The XP Deus is by far the most popular detector in the UK for working stubble/ploughed fields, though any detector with fast recovery speeds and selectable frequencies or multi-frequency (Equinox) should fit the bill. Having the ability to run a higher frequency will tend to more suit the lower conductor thin hammered coins and small Roman coins vs say a detector running a single lower frequency.

Essentially any area of previous habitation will have you dealing with the issue of plenty of iron contamination, hence why fast recovery speeds will be advantageous and outright depth may be a secondary consideration.

So I guess a shortlist should include:
XP Deus or XP ORX
Minelab Equinox
Makro Multi Kruzer or Nokta/Makro Multi Anfibio

Things that you can't buy - luck and good permissions. I hope you do well and best of luck regardless of what detector you end up choosing. :Y:

Earlier this year I went to Scotland, I brought a nox800 here used it half a dozen times and sold it when I left for 600 so it cost me nothing and the person who brought it over there got it half price,winners all round

Good luck - have occupied my thoughts to this as well. I have an equinox, so it is a one sided decision for me.