Question About Detecting Gold Cache In A Jar.

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello mates, I'll cut to the chase though I'm new here.

I have a location where a large jar of gold coins is allegedly buried.

I've been up there with Goldmask ii, Fisher Gemini 3, and now a GPX-5000. No luck, but lots of trash at the location, so many many holes dug in forest soil filled with big rocks and roots, the absolute worst.

I am not a prospector, but I have much respect for you all on this forum as you speak it like it is.

I've had a Jeohunter 3D recommended to.me for this hunt, but these sell for $3000 and Re-sell for about $1500, are they any good for this?

I've also heard strange things such as large gold.coin masses reading as a magnet would, for a detector? A similar jar of lead coin size weights was only being "seen" by the GPX5000 at about 20", and this stash I'm hunting is likely to be deeper than that.

I would have thought a target this large would be screaming for any detector, but I've heard everything from it'll detect the whole stash as one coin at a time to it's basically silent or sounds like a magnet would. I have no way of testing this obviously.

Would a LARGE coil on the GPX discriminate out the small trash? Would a Jeohunter 3D be better for finding this ? Or something else? It's a small enough area I'd love to bulldoze it down until I find it or run out of dirt, but I can't attract that kind of attention to the area.

I appreciate all replies mates.

Very interesting im not up to speed with the 5000 but I do know there's deep seeking coils and settings on the machine for large deeper gold , you will struggle to get more than 2ft out of any machine , a 7000 with the 19inch coil would be the deepest machine I know of. Now that you have all the shallow targets gone it would be easy.

Motherlode7555 said: