Pumps for a Highbanker - information and questions

Prospecting Australia

Help Support Prospecting Australia:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI...akeTrack=true&ssPageName=VIP:watchlink:top:en

The above link is for the pump I am looking at buying , don't know much about them but if its good enough,
will go ahead and buy one. Just looking at specs tells me it would not have to rev out much to do the job
and not be too hungry on fuel .
Please: feel free to comment because I have no experience with these gadgets.
:D steve.

Hi Steve,

I have the same pump 149 including delivery. Its been running 6 months (almost every weekend) so far without any trouble. Oil and good sparkplug is what Ive added. I run it on about 1/3 throttle and it lasts 4-5 hours before I need to feed it again.

From memory Ive paid more for all the fittings and hoses then the actual pump.

Cheers Joe

5.5hp - 2 inch in and out will work with any highbanker. I have a reducer 2 flat hose going to 1 flex hose outlet (1.5m to 2m) into HB - first not to get kinks (as you do with flat hose and sharp angles) second creating more pressure for the jet yet still running about 1/3 throttle capacity. So yes the pump works fine.

Also depends on the width and length and whats inside as a contraption. I use goldhog mating UR and Scrubber which needs a bit more flow than Hungarian riffle or mesh and miners moss or carpet.

Two stroke smaller engines are too noisy for me , four stroke smaller engines (cheaper versions) are almost same price as this one but you would have to work them harder which could reduce the overall life span.

If this Chinese knockoff will last me 12moths + Im happy.

cheers joe

Looking at getting a new and reasonably portable pump for my new highbanker.
Wondering what people are using and what width their bankers are ?